Washington D.C. 2008

081Growing up it was always a dream to visit Washington D.C. Luckily that wish came true in 2008.

After studying congress and presidents in school, my parents thought it would be a great idea to visit Washington D.C. for our family vacation.

During our trip out there we visited Lincoln’s Memorial, Washington Monument, Vietnam061 Veteran Memorial, Tomb of the unknown solider, Reflection pool, United States Capital, White House, National Museum of Natural History, National Air and Space Museum, National World War II Memorial, International Spy Museum, Arlington Cemetery, and Korean War Veterans Memorial.

187Being able to see all the sites listed was a great experience! It really gave me a look into our history. To be honest, it was an emotional experience. Standing in front of the Vietnam Veteran Memorial, and seeing all those names was almost an awakening as too how many people died for our country. My great Uncle Tom was a POW during the Vietnam War. Being able to sit down to talk to him  about his experiences in the war definitely made seeing the wall more memorable.

Unfortunately, when my family was visiting Washington D.C. Ford’s Theater was closed due to renovations. Abraham Lincoln was my favorite president and I so badly wanted to visit Ford’s. I will 094just have to take another trip there to see it.

Visiting Washington D.C. was a unforgettable trip! A trip I recommend everyone to take at some point in their life.

 

 

Leave a comment